All you need to know about FIFA FIFPro World11 – 2019

To start off with FIFPro or International Federation of Professional Footballers is a professional footballer organization that consists of 65,000 professional footballers and is made up of 63 national players’ associations, five candidate members and eight observers.

When did FIFPro start Awarding World11?

FIFPro started awarding it’s World11 in 2005 and organized its own World11 till 2008. In 2009 they have joined hands with FIFA to create FIFA FIFPro World XI and the awards are being presented in the same name since.

Which Player/Players featured most on FIFA FIFPro World XI?

The perennial superstars of this generation Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have featured 12 times each which means they have featured every single year since inception.

When is the FIFA FIFPro World XI Announced?

FIFA FIFPro World XI – 2019 will be announced in Milan on Monday 23 September at The Best FIFA Football Awards show.

What is the voting Format for FIFA FIFPro World XI

Step 1 – Voting ballots are sent to FIFPro member or candidate member footballers’ associations.

Step 2 – These ballots are then distributed among professional footballers in their countries.

Step 3 – The players who have received the ballot have to choose 1 goalkeeper, 4 defenders, 3 midfielders and 3 forwards.

Step 4 – These ballots are sent back to FIFPro’s head office.

Step 5 – Every ballot will consist of not more than 11 players and all votes count equally.

Step 6 – The players with the most votes in each position will feature in FIFA FIFPro World XI

What happens if there is a tie for the last available position?

If there is a tie for the last available place in a position (when the number of players exceeds the permitted number of positions), the player who has played the most international matches for his country shall be selected.

What if a player receives votes for two different positions?

In case a player receives votes for two different positions the votes from both positions will be counted towards him and the position player will feature in will be determined by FIFPro.

Which players featured on last seasons FIFA FIFPro World XI?

Last seasons squad featured a 4-2-3-1 formation and players featured were

David De Gea,
Dani Alves, Raphael Varane, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo,
Luka Modric, N’Golo Kante,
Eden Hazard, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe,
Cristiano Ronaldo

How many Players Voted for Last year(2018) FIFA FIFPro World XI?

Last year 25,000 professional footballers from more than 65 countries voted to create a dream team for the year.

The awards are given to the best players in each position based on their performances during the period from 16 July 2018 to 19 July 2019

Which Players feature in this year’s FIFA FIFPro World XI 55 players shortlist?

The 55 players shortlisted this year include 21 Premier League-based players and 20- La Liga based players.

The most dominant clubs this season are Real Madrid (11), Barcelona (9), Liverpool and Manchester City(7 each).

The list includes

Goalkeepers (5)

Alisson Becker (BRA) – Liverpool FC
David De Gea (ESP) – Manchester United
Ederson Moraes (BRA) – Manchester City
Jan Oblak (SVN) – Atletico Madrid
Marc-Andre ter Stegen (GER) – FC Barcelona

Defenders (20)

Jordi Alba (ESP) – FC Barcelona
Trent Alexander-Arnold (ENG) – Liverpool FC
Dani Alves (BRA) – Paris Saint-Germain / Sao Paulo FC
Joao Cancelo (POR) – Juventus / Manchester City
Daniel Carvajal (ESP) – Real Madrid
Giorgio Chiellini (ITA) – Juventus
Matthijs de Ligt (NED) – Ajax / Juventus
Diego Godin (URU) – Atletico Madrid / Internazionale
Joshua Kimmich (GER) – Bayern Munich
Kalidou Koulibaly (SEN) – SSC Napoli
Aymeric Laporte (FRA) – Manchester City
Marcelo (BRA) – Real Madrid
Gerard Pique (ESP) – FC Barcelona
Sergio Ramos (ESP) – Real Madrid
Andrew Robertson (SCO) – Liverpool FC
Alex Sandro (BRA) – Juventus
Thiago Silva (BRA) – Paris Saint-Germain
Virgil van Dijk (NED) – Liverpool FC
Raphael Varane (FRA) – Real Madrid
Kyle Walker (ENG) – Manchester City

Midfielders (15)

Sergio Busquets (ESP) – FC Barcelona
Casemiro (BRA) – Real Madrid
Kevin de Bruyne (BEL) – Manchester City
Frenkie de Jong (NED) – Ajax / FC Barcelona
Christian Eriksen (DEN) – Tottenham Hotspur
Eden Hazard (BEL) – Chelsea FC / Real Madrid
N’Golo Kante (FRA) – Chelsea FC
Toni Kroos (GER) – Real Madrid
Arthur Melo (BRA) – FC Barcelona
Luka Modric (CRO) – Real Madrid
Paul Pogba (FRA) – Manchester United
Ivan Rakitic (CRO) – FC Barcelona
Bernardo Silva (POR) – Manchester City
Dusan Tadic (SRB) – Ajax
Arturo Vidal (CHI) – FC Barcelona

Forwards (15)

Sergio Aguero (ARG) – Manchester City
Karim Benzema (FRA) – Real Madrid
Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Juventus
Roberto Firmino (BRA) – Liverpool FC
Antoine Griezmann (FRA) – Atletico Madrid / FC Barcelona
Son Heungmin (KOR) – Tottenham Hotspur
Harry Kane (ENG) – Tottenham Hotspur
Robert Lewandowski (POL) – Bayern Munich
Sadio Mane (SEN) – Liverpool FC
Kylian Mbappe (FRA) – Paris Saint-Germain
Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona
Neymar (BRA) – Paris Saint-Germain
Mohamed Salah (EGY) – Liverpool FC
Raheem Sterling (ENG) – Manchester City
Luis Suarez (URU) – FC Barcelona

Take Aways from the list

The list is no longer La Liga dominated and for the first time EPL became the League with most number of players.

Barcelona and Real Madrid are still the most represented clubs in the world.

There are 17 players who are making a debut on the list.

Son Heung-min became the first Asian player to feature on the list.

Christian Eriksen is the first Danish footballer to feature on the list.

Andy Robertson first-ever Scot to feature on the list.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have a chance to make it 13 in a row.

To learn more about the rules please click here

To read more articles about the world of football press here